Open navigation

Manage user profiles and permissions

Hippo Video provides you with a set of default profiles. With this, you can manage user profiles such as setting up permissions to manage folders, videos, documents, sales pages, campaigns, scripts (teleprompter), reports, etc. Users associated with the profile will get access to all the features. You also have an option to create a custom profile by cloning the default profiles.

Default Profiles:

  • Standard Admin - Access to all the features inclusive of Branding, Subscriptions, and User Management.

  • Standard User - By default, the Branding, Subscriptions, and User Management features are not accessible. Other features are available based on the permissions set by Admin.


Profiles: Is a set of permissions dealing with module access and operations, setup customizations, and access. You can provide different sets of permissions to various users. But at any point, a user will not be associated with more than one profile.

Note: The default profiles cannot be edited or deleted. You can only clone the profile.

The below table illustrates the functionalities available on the profile page,

Features

Functionalities

Check box

Selects the profile

Profile Name

Displays the profile name

Users

Displays the user’s count

Permissions

Displays the available permissions for all

Created By

Displays the profile creator name

Actions

Edit or Clone the profile

Create Profile button

Helps to create a custom profile


To create a custom profile:

  1. Login to Hippo Video using your existing credentials. Click on the Settingsicon from the left navbar and then click on the Profiles and Permissions tab or click on the More  icon from the left navbar and then click on Settings Profiles and Permissions

  1. You’ll be able to see the default profiles: Standard Admin and Standard Users

  2. Now, click the Create Profile button on the upper right.

  1. You can select Standard Admin or Standard User from the Profile to be cloned drop-down. 

  2. Enter the profile name and description.

  3. Click Create. Now, the profile is created successfully. 

Note: The symbols near the permissions indicate the accessibility for the user - 1 & 2 has no access to those permissions and 3 indicates that there is access to that permission.

    

PermissionsIs a set of rules that define whether a user has access to a resource or not. E.g. Edit Video, View Reports, Delete Video, etc. It can be configured and set differently by the admin based on the user. You can set custom permissions based on specific requirements. 

Key Features: A permission set has three different categories.

  • Basic Permissions 

  • Admin Permissions 

  • Export Permissions 

List of Permissions:

Sections

Description

Basic Permissions

  • Folders - Allow users to create, edit, view, and delete folders or enable only the required access or disable the entire access to the folders.

  • Videos - Allow users to create, edit, view, and delete videos or enable only the required access or disable the entire access to the videos.

  • Documents - Allow users to create, edit, view, and delete documents or enable only the required access or disable the entire document access.

  • Sales Pages - Allow users to create, edit, view, and delete sales pages or enable only the required access or disable the entire access to the sales pages

  • Scripts - Allow users to create, edit, view, and delete scripts (teleprompter) or enable only the required access or disable the entire access to the scripts

  • Campaigns - Allow users to create, edit, view, and delete campaigns or enable only the required access or disable the entire access to the campaigns

  • Reports and Dashboards - Allow users to view sales page reports or disable access to the reports activities

  • Asset Level Reports - Allow users to view video reports or disable access to the reports activities

  • Subtitle - Allow users to upload and generate subtitles or enable only the required access or disable the entire access to the subtitle

  • Personalization - Enable or disable the personalization access to the user

  • Team Reports - Allow users to view or disable access to the overall team reports and detailed reports        

Admin Permissions

  • Branding - Allow users to view or disable access to the brandings

  • Subscriptions - Allow users to view or disable access to the subscriptions

  • Global Settings - Allow users to manage the global settings based on the access. Click here to learn more.

  • Integrations - Enable or disable access to the user for the integrations

  • User Management - Enable/disable the required access or disable the entire access to the user management

Export Permissions

  • Download Reports - Allow users to view and download sales page/video reports or video settings or disable access to download reports


Admin level default permission setting,


User level default permission setting,


To set permissions:

  1. Click the Edit icon near the profile. You can set accessibility for each feature by toggling On/Off and checking the control boxes.

  2. For example, the user has permission to create, edit, view, and delete folders but no permission to access the sales page.

  1. Once you are done, click Save. This will be reflected in all the users under this profile.

Note: To learn more about the benefits of enabling or disabling access for the features, click here.

To assign users with a profile:

The hyphenated symbol below the user’s column indicates that no user is assigned to this profile.

Now, to assign the user with a profile, follow the steps below:

  1. Click on the Users tab from the top left.

  1. Now, click the Ellipsis icon on the right and click Edit.

  1. From the Profile drop-down, select the profile.

  2. Click Update. Now, the user is assigned to the selected profile.

Note: Now, the user will have the option to access the features based on the permission set by Admin.

To ensure that the selected user is assigned to the profile:

  1. Go to the Profiles and Permissions tab and you’ll be notified below the Users column as shown in the example.

Note: By default, all the users assigned to this profile will have the same accessibility to the features. In case, if the Admin needs to have separate accessibility for the specific users then he/she needs to create a new profile. You can clone the profile as many times as needed.

To delete a profile:

Before deleting the profile, you must remove all the users. 



Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Send feedback
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.