Open navigation

Configure video privacy settings (Password & Expiry)

Make your videos more private by changing the privacy settings. Follow the steps below to change the privacy settings for a video,


To manage video privacy settings:

  1. Login to Hippo Video using your existing credentials.

  2. Click on the Libraryicon from the left navbar and then click on Videos and Documents All Assets. Select a video to which you want to add privacy.

  3. Below the video preview, click the Video Settings tab > Privacy.

  4. By default, Anyone with the link option will be selected.

  1. If you choose Only Me, the settings will be updated, and the Copy Link button will be disabled automatically when hovering the mouse over the button. You’ll be notified with the message as This video cannot be shared due to privacy settings.

Note: Any changes you make will automatically be saved.


To set a password to your video:


This simple feature ensures that only someone with the password can watch the video. You can secure your video with a password. 

Note:  You can set anyone privacy options or both based on your preference.
  1. Choose Anyone with the link and select Set Password to turn on the video password.

  2. Then, enter a password for the video and click Appy.


To set the expiry for your video: 

Here is a way to remove the video after a particular time frame. You can choose to expire the videos instead of deleting them once their purpose of them is reached. The benefits of video expiry are you can reuse the videos in the future and prevent piracy.

  1. Choose Anyone with the link and select Set Expiry.

  2. Now, pick a date and time you want the video to expire.

  3. Click Apply.




Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Send feedback
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.